Migration Procedure

Added in Iguana version 6.1 for Enterprise and Professional tiers only.

Introduction

This page documents how to migrate an existing Iguana server that is using encrypted logs, to using to a new server with encrypted logs.

We strongly recommend that you review the other documents in this section before performing this upgrade procedure.

Migration Procedure [top]

Follow these steps:

  1. Follow the Install or Upgrade procedure on the target server, with the following modifications:

    To make this work you need to copy the encrypted logs and the associated locker file from the source server to the target server. This needs to be done when the target server is not running.

    • Do not start the target server during the install/upgrade process:
      • Install: Step 2
      • Upgrade: Step 5
      • Note: If you already started the target server then just stop it.
    • Copy the encrypted logs directory from the source server to the target server
    • Copy the source server locker file to working directory of the target server

      Note: You may also copy the unlocker file (if it exists), but it is not necessary as you can easily enable and disable Auto-Unlock in the target server settings.

    • Continue with the install or upgrade process
    • When you are registering Iguana you should use a new Enterprise/Professional license.

      Alternatively you can transfer the license you were using on the previous server. The advantage of using a new license is that the logs remain available on the old server — so you can compare log entry content to confirm that the migrated logs are correct.

    • Omit the initialize locker step and use the unlock an existing (shared) locker file step:

      We need to to use the locker file we copied so we need to omit the initialize locker step which would create a new locker file, and use the following unlock an existing (shared) locker file step instead.

      • Install: Omit step 7 and Perform step 8
      • Upgrade: Omit step 10 and Perform step 11
  2. Confirm that the logs are available on the new server.

    We recommend that you compare the content of a few log entries from the old server to the same log entries on the new server.

  3. Recommended: Delete the encrypted logs from the old server.

    Now that the logs are available on the new server we recommend deleting them from the old server for security.

  4. The migration is now complete.

 

Leave A Comment?