How to resolve an editor “merge conflict”

This situation can occur when you have multiple Iguana sessions editing the same module. For example: When you accidentally open the same project twice, or you may have two users updating the same shared module (in different channels).

If you get the similar “File Modified” dialog, see the FAQ How to deal with the “File Modified” dialog.

Issue: The Iguana Editor merge algorithm does not know which version of the code to use. Therefore it displays two versions and asks you to resolve the issue.

Solution: Edit the code to fix the issue then save a milestone:

  1. If you are uncertain of which changes to keep then make a copy of the code first.
  2. Choose either the original (green) or new (white) version of the code.
    In this case we choose the old (green) code:
  3. Delete everything else, the new (white) code and the (green) comments:
  4. Then save a milestone.

Note: If the code was edited by a colleague, you will probably need to discuss the changes to ensure a solution that fulfills both your requirements. Which is why we suggest making a copy as the first step (you can save it in a text file).

Leave A Comment?