Restore deleted channels

This feature was added in version 6.1 of Iguana.

Introduction

Iguana commits configuration changes to its local Git Repository. This enables you to restore (revert to) previously deleted channels, in exactly the same way you can revert to previous configuration settings and source code commits.

This feature is really very simple. It displays a list of channel-deletion events from Iguana’s Git Repository history. The user can select any deletion event and restore the channel(s) deleted in that event. If you deleted multiple channels, then all those channels will be restored.

Restoring Deleted Channels [top]

To review channel deletions, and restore channel(s) that were deleted:

  1. Choose a Deletion Commit to view its details.
  2. View the channel(s) that were deleted.
  3. Optionally view the contents of the files to be restored.
  4. Revert to the selected commit.

Tip: Don’t worry if you accidentally restore the wrong version of a channel — you can simply delete it and then look for the correct version.

Choose which Commit to view:

Click on the Deletion Commit that you want to view — the first column contains the name of the deleted channel (except for bulk deletions).

View the deleted Channels:

If you are viewing a bulk deletion you will want to view the list of channels that were deleted — this can be found on the left just below the commit list.

Tip: A bulk deletion is any deletion performed using the Dashboard, so if a single channel is deleted using the Dashboard then a “bulk deletion” that only contains one channel.

View the files to be restored:

You can view the list of files that will be restored, as well of the contents of those files. This is useful is if you do not know the channel name or have re-used a channel name and deleted it several times (“Test” for example) — then you can inspect the code to see which channel you need to restore.

For example if the Test channel has several Channel Deletion Commits:

In this case we want to restore code using the age.lua module, which can be seen in the list of files and is confirmed by viewing the content of the main() module:

Examples of Restoring Channels [top]

We show how to restore single and multiple channels

Restoring a Single Channel

In this case we want to restore the Create SQLite DB channel.

  1. Scan the list of deleted channels looking for Channel “Create SQLite DB” deleted.
  2. If no such entry then view the Bulk channel deletion performed by user “<user>” entries.
  3. When you find the correct entry click the Restore button at the bottom of the screen:

Tip: If a channel with the same name as the one you are restoring already exists, then you need to choose one of these three actions: Full Update to overwrite the code and the settings, Update Translators Only to update only the code, or Restore As New Channel to restore to a new channel with a different name. Alternatively you can just cancel the restore.

Restoring Multiple Channels

In this case we need to restore two FHIR channels: FHIR Server and FHIR Client.

  1. Scan the list of deleted channels looking for single deletions like Channel “FHIR …” deleted, or for bulk deletions containing “FHIR …”.
  2. If you find multiple matching entries then you will need to inspect files to identify the correct entry or entries to restore.
  3. When you find the correct entry click the Restore button at the bottom of the screen:

Please don't hesitate to take anonymous feedback survey or leave us a comment.

Leave A Comment?